Awards and Prizes


Chapman Prize
Harold Chapman was a prominent dental surgeon, lecturer and founding staff member of the London Hospital Dental School. He was a life-long promoter of Orthodontics and an early Council member of the British Society for the Study of Orthodontics.
Geoffrey Fletcher Elective Scholarship
The late Geoffrey Fletcher was a senior lecturer for many years at the Eastman Dental Hospital with responsibility for training Post-Graduate orthodontic students. He has generously sponsored this prize in perpetuity.
Houston Postgraduate Research Scholar
This award was established as a memorial to Professor WJ Houston following his tragic death in 1991
Laurence Usiskin Student Elective Scholarship
An award in memory of Laurence Usiskin who was eminent in Orthodontics as a Senior Lecturer, examiner and Sub-Dean at Guys and St Thomas' Hospital.
Practitioner Group Cases Prize
Sponsored by Ormco
Research Protocol Award
Sponsored by JJ Thompson
UTG Research Presentation Prize
Sponsored by ORTHOCARE
Previous BOS prize winners and award holders
Please note some prizes were not run in 2020