COG Committee Members

The COG committee is drawn from members of the Society who work primarily in the Hospital Service


Dr Nicola Atack

Nikki is a full-time Consultant Orthodontist dividing her time between Bristol Dental Hospital and Musgrove Park Hospital, Taunton.  Her clinical interests include the joint Orthodontic-Paediatric Dentistry interface and Orthognathic Treatment.
Having previously been a member of the COG Committee taking responsibility for organising the Symposium in 2010-11, Nikki continued her involvement with the committee through her time as Chair of the Clinical Standards Committee and the Clinical Governance Committee and, latterly with the re-structuring of the BOS, as Director of Clinical Governance.  She finished her term in this role in December 2015 and took over as Chair of COG in January 2016.


Miss Helen Tippett

Helen was elected as Secretary of COG in 2014 and took up office in January 2015. During her training she was an active member of the TGG but this is her first role in the COG. She has been a Consultant at King’s College Hospital (KCH), London since 2004. Her clinical interests include the orthodontic/restorative interface with a particular focus on hypodontia. Since 2007, she has been TPD at KCH and, in 2009, also took on the role of STC Chair for the four orthodontic programmes in London. Most recently, her interests in training have widened to include all training in secondary care following her appointment to HEE as Associate Dean for DCT and Specialty in London and the South East.

Committee Treasurer

Mr Joe Noar

I am a consultant orthodontist and honorary senior lecturer at the Eastman Dental Hospital/Institute in London. I have an interest in early orthodontic intervention.      

Committee Member

Dr Christopher Barker
DDS, BChD, MFDS RCS(Ed), MOrth RCS(Ed), FDS(Orth) RCS(Eng)

Chris is currently a part-time Consultant at Pinderfields Hospital, Wakefield and also works part-time in specialist orthodontic practice. Chris's main area of clinical interest is in treating severe orthodontic problems including patients with hypodontia, impacted teeth and those requiring orthognathic surgery. He is an examiner for the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh and Training Programme Director for Dental Core trainees at Pinderfields Hospital. Chris is currently representing COG on the Directorate of Clinical Practice committee.

Committee Member

Mr Mark Sayers

A GDC Registered Specialist orthodontist who divides his time between Queen Mary Hospital, Sidcup and the Grosvenor Orthodontic Clinic. A nationally recognised expert with Lingual appliances, particularly INCOGNITO, these fit the inside surfaces of the teeth and are therefore totally invisible. He also treats the more complex cases i.e. hypodontia or those that require orthognathic (facial) surgery.   

Committee Member

Dr Lindsay Winchester

Lindsay qualified with honours in Dentistry, Paediatrics and Orthodontics from Guy's Hospital Dental School in 1981. After qualifying she spent several years gaining experience in many areas of surgery including maxillofacial surgery, oral medicine, restorative dentistry, children's dentistry and orthodontics.

Lindsay is Clinical Lead Consultant for Orthodontics at Queen Victoria Hospital, East Grinstead, and is actively involved in teaching both nationally and internationally. She is an examiner for the Royal College of Surgeons in Orthodontics. She has huge experience in both Child and Adult Orthodontics.

Committee Member

Dr Claire Bates

Claire Bates is a Consultant Orthodontist at Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust and an Honorary Senior Lecturer at Leeds University. She is currently the Academic Lead for the Yorkshire Deanery Orthodontic Postgraduate Programme.

Her research background is in Sleep Apnoea, having been awarded the SIGN Clinical Fellowship for work on the implementation of evidence based guidelines in this area. Her clinical interests lie in the area of facial deformity and the Ethicon Foundation Award from the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh enabled her to gain valuable experience at Toronto Sick Children's Hospital.

Claire is also a Member of the Faculty of Examiners Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh for the MFDS Examination.

Committee Member

Dr Zararna Nelson - Moon

David Morris (Thumbnail)

Committee Member

Miss Mary McKnight  BDS Wales; DOrth; MSc; MOrth; FDS (Orth)

Professional interests: Complex malocclusions and multidisciplinary care; orthognathic surgery; craniofacial anomalies


Committee Member

Ms Laura Mitchell MBE

I am a consultant orthodontist at St Lukes Hospital Bradford with a particular interest in cleft lip and palate.

Committee Member Northern Ireland Rep

Mr Ivan Connolly

UnknownProfile (Original size)

Committee Member - Wales Rep

Miss Charlotte Eckhardt



Charlotte Eckhardt qualified in dentistry from the Royal London Hospital in 1995. Following qualification she spent three years in Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery before a year in general dental practice. She became a Fellow of the Royal College of Surgeons (England) in 1998. Her three year specialist training in orthodontics at the Eastman Hospital resulted in an MSc from the University of London and Royal College Membership in Orthodontics in 2002.

Committee Member - SAC

Dr David Tewson

Speciality: Orthodontics

Sub-speciality: Cleft Lip and Palate; Facial Deformity; HypondontiaSpecial clinical interests: Growth Modification

Research interests: Effects of Orthodontic Treatment on the face

Current membership(s) of professional National and Regional bodies: General Dental Council, registration number 51674

Current membership(s) of professional National and Regional bodies: Chair, Eastern Regional Hospital Dental Specialties Development Group; Eastern Deanery Specialty Training Committee; British Orthodontic Society Consultant Committee; BOS Scholarship and Awards Committee; Intercollegiate Specialty Fellowship Board in Orthodontics; Chair, RCS Edinburgh Specialty Advisory Board in Orthodontics

Committee member - Scotland Rep

Mr David Morrant


Committee Member

Ms Helen Travess

Helen is a consultant in Buckinghamshire split between Amersham and Stoke Mandeville. She has previously been the TGG secretary and chairperson, and is now a COG committee member with a role in orgnaising the COG symposium.