UTG Committee Members

The UTG committee is drawn from members of the Society who are Orthodontic teachers in a university


Dr Norah Flannigan

  Senior Clinical Lecturer/Hon Consultant in Orthodontics
Liverpool University Dental Hospital


Dr Gurprit K Bhamrah

  Consultant in Orthodontics at Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust


Dr T Bill Ip

BDS, FDS RCSEd, MOrth RCSEd, IMOrth RCS (Eng), MPhil (Ortho), FDS(Orth) RCSEd

Trained at Liverpool and Birmingham.

Member of the British Dental Association (BDA), British Orthodontic Society (BOS), European Orthodontic Society (EOS), British Society for the Study of Orthodontics (BSSO), British Society of Paediatric DentistryChair of the Hospitals Group Northern Division (BDA).Vice-chair of the Central Committee for Hospital Dental Services (BDA).Treasurer of the University Teachers Group (BOS). Examiners Panel of the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh and the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeon of Glasgow. Research supervisor for the Newcastle University MSc degree in Orthodontics. Deanery approved specialty trainer.

Newcastle University undergraduate and postgraduate lecturer and examiner.

Clinical Governance

Miss Nadine Houghton

Nadine is a consultant orthodontist at St Lukes Hospital (Bradford) and Leeds Dental Institute. She has an interest in autologous transplantation and dent-facial deformity.

SAC Representative

Professor Susan Cunningham

Susan Cunningham graduated with Honours from Leeds in 1988. Her orthodontic training was undertaken at the Eastman Dental Institute, gaining an MSc in 1994 and Membership in Orthodontics in 1995. She gained her PhD in 2000 and is now Professor of Orthodontics/Honorary Consultant at the UCL Eastman Dental Institute. She is also Programme Director of the MClinDent programme at UCL Eastman Dental Institute. Her main research interests are in the psychology of dentofacial deformity and the outcomes of orthodontic and orthognathic treatment. She has published more than 85 original papers and contributed to several specialist textbooks. She has involvement in local, national and international committees. She is currently Chair of the SAC in Orthodontics; a member of the Advisory Board for Specialty Training in Dentistry; a member of the Representative Body of the British Orthodontic Society; honorary secretary and a member of Council of the European Orthodontic Society.